Marianne Furtado de Nazareth

Read my books, they are the windows of my soul.


Sun Sign


Three things people don’t know about you?

1) Bringing up my 3 sons changed me from being a girly girl to a pretend Major General! 2) I have two Master’s degrees, one in History and one in Media Communications 3) I adore my grand daughters as I had no girls of my own

What’s your greatest fear?

Hate snakes and used to have recurrent nightmares of them as a child

What is your greatest achievement?

Finishing my PhD at age 58!

High point of your life?

The birth of my sons, though I was very disappointed I had no daughters

Low point of your life

When I lost my Dad to a combination of Parkinsons and Diabetes

Which living person do you most admire?

My mother as she is struggling to live, a total shadow of herself, struck down by Parkinson’s

Who is your favorite fictional hero?

Superman because of the number of times my sons had to be dressed for Fancy Dress costume parades :-)

Who is your favorite fictional villain?

Gabbar Singh in the movie Sholaay

Who are your favorite authors?

Roald Dahl, William Dalrymple, Georgette Heyer, Emily Bronte, Steig Larsson

What are your 5 favorite books of all time?

Book Thief, Secret Garden, Kite Runner, Lord of the Flies, Wuthering Heights

Is there a book you love to reread?

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy

What are your 5 favorite movies of all time?

Gone with the Wind, My Fair Lady, The Godfather, Sound of Music

One Superpower you wish you had?

I wish I could fly

Your epitaph would read? /Last line in your biography would be?

Last line in biography: Eat tons of chocolate as you never know when diabetes hits you.

If you had a time machine to take you back to any country and any time period, where would you choose to be for your childhood, adolosent , adult life and silver years?

My childhood years spent with my grandparents in Baroda and Bangalore. My adult life when I did a Masters in Aarhus ( Denmark), Amsterdam and Swansea ( Wales)

If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?

A talent to be diplomatic with nasty people

When and where do you write ?

I write every single day in my study, as I am a Science and Environment journalistWhat you sow, you reap.

Silence or music?

Don’t mind either

One phrase that you use most often?

What you sow, you reap

Do you have a writing ritual / superstition?

No, none at all

What’s your guilty reading pleasure?

Salacious gossip about film stars and the British Royal family on Social Media!

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?

Write because you love too. Don’t bother if you don’t read regularly

This is my third book -- second published by Leadstart. Travelling takes up most of my life as I visit my sons in the UK and US. I am a freelance Sc and Environ. journalist and a sustainable planet is all important for me. My doctorate was on Man/Elephant conflict. I live in Bangalore, India with my husband and one son.

No media found.

No interviews found.

No videos found.

1942 Amsterdam Ave NY (212) 862-3680
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Free shipping
for orders over 50%